Minutes of the RC 10 Business Meeting held at 7.30pm on 19 July 2018 in the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Toronto, Canada.

1. Opening and Welcome

Isabel da Costa, President of RC 10 in the Chair, opened the meeting and welcomed all present.

2. Acting Secretary

The Chair noted that due to the absence of the Secretary the meeting would have to select an Acting Secretary. The meeting unanimously accepted the nomination of Dasarath Chetty to serve in this capacity.

3. President's Report

The President reported that the main RC 10 event over the last 4 years was the mid-term conference which was held in Lisbon. Over 600 abstracts were received and 350 papers were presented in person at the conference. A publication comprising 3 volumes of selected papers has been signed up with Peter Lang. An E Book including those papers not published in the 3 Peter Lang volumes will also be published.

RC 10 members were exempt from paying fees at the Lisbon conference due to grant funding.

The meeting congratulated the President on organising the successful Lisbon conference.

The financial report on the Lisbon conference was being finalised and the President will make it available soon.

The second important RC 10 event held was the ISA forum in Vienna where the sessions were well attended, especially by youthful participants.

In Vienna the President compiled a presentation made of submissions of 2 pages each from the President, 2 Vice-Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer.

The third event was the Toronto World Congress where over 100 abstracts were received. About 60 were on the final programme.

An Activities Report has to be sent to the ISA by the President. This allows RC 10 to apply for an activities grant.

4. Secretary's Report and Treasurer's Report

In the absence of the Secretary and the Treasurer the President verbally presented the both Reports.

It was reported that:

- 1. Membership of RC 10 is open to non ISA members. It is usually in the Congress year that membership renewals take place.
- 2. Technical problems with the ISA membership list system led to ISA losing RC10's Life Members from its data base.
- 3. ISA had refused the RC 10 Treasurer access to the membership list which includes payments made apparently because it was complicated. Only the total paid was sent to the Treasurer. It was agreed that the incoming Treasurer should systematically forward all notifications from ISA to the treasurer.
- 4. Membership lists have now been updated. There are presently 70 members in good standing.
- 5. According to a document submitted by Eleni Nina-Pazarzi the opening balance in the RC 10 account was 1472.84 Euro (from past treasurer L.Nicolaou Smokoviti) and the closing balance was 828.51 Euro. Manoy Kumar Teotia, PP Balan and Azril Bacal had received 200 Euro grants each during this period.

5. RC 10 Statutes

The ISA had requested RC 10 to amend its statutes re. deadlines for nominations, manner of electing the Board and officers etc. The Secretary, it was reported, made the amendments required. The amendments have to be voted on.

6. Wiki and Facebook Pages

Vera Vratusa was responsible for the Wiki page.

Ake Sandberg was responsible for the Facebook page.

7. Election of the New Board (2018-2022)

Nominations for the 10 Board positions had already been submitted electronically.

Stefan Lucking acted as Electoral Officer with the Chair (Isabel da Costa).

The Chair asked if there were further nominations from the floor.

New members present and members not in good standing paid their fees in cash to Volkmar Kreissig. This allowed them to vote.

It was agreed that too few women were nominated to serve on the board.

It was agreed that the Secretary of the new Board should be a woman.

It was agreed that the 10 nominations with the highest number of votes would become Board members and other nominees would serve as Alternates.

7.1 List of candidates nominated for the RC10 Board

Fátima Assunção, Professor, ISCSP, School of Social and Political Sciences,

University of Lisbon, Portugal, RC10 Secretary 2014-18

Catherine Casey, Professor, School of Business and Economics, Loughborough

University, Leicestershire, UK, RC10 Vice-President 2014-18

Dasarath Chetty, Adjunct Professor, Enterprise Development Unit, Durban University of Technology, Durban, South Africa

Cristiano Gianolla, Researcher, Centre for Social Studies, University of Coimbra, Portugal.

Janaka Hemathilaka, Deputy Director, Inclusive Development of Janathakshan, Sri Lanka

Volkmar Kreissig, Professor for Management Theory, Environmental-Project-

Management, Corporate Governance and Human Resources Management,

various Universities, and DAAD-Senior-Herder-Professor of German Academic

Exchange Service (DAAD) at Agrar University Chisinau/Moldova

Erik Lindhult, Senior Lecturer, School of Innovation, Design and Engineering,

Malardalen University, Eskilstuna, Sweden

Stefan Lücking, Dr., Head of Research Focus Changes in Codetermination,

Hans-Böckler-Stiftung, Germany

Eleni Nina-Pazarzi, Em. Professor of Sociology, Department of Business

Administration, the University of Piraeus in Greece and Member of Athens Bar

Association, RC10 Treasurer 2014-18

Maxime Quijoux, Researcher, CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research),

LISE, Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers (CNAM), France

Pawel Starosta, Professor, Institute of Sociology, University of Lodz, Lodz, Poland RC10, RC10 Board Member 2014-18

Manoj K. Teotia, Centre for Research in Rural and Industrial Development (CRRID), India

Azril Bacal Roij, Uppsala University, Sweden

Michela Freddano, INVALSI- Italian National Institute of Educational Evaluation, Italy

Donatella Poliandro, INVALSI- Italian National Institute of Educational Evaluation, Italy

Jurate Imbrasaite, Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania, Department of Sociology, Vytautas Magnus University, Kaunas, Lithuania

Candidates Dasarath Chetty, Volkmar Kreissig, Erik Lindhult, Stefan Lucking, Azril Bacal, Michela Freddano and Donatella Poliandro introduced themselves to voters who had not voted electronically.

After the electronic votes were tallied together with the votes cast at the meeting the outcome was announced.

7.2 Election Results in order of number of votes received. 10 Board and 6 Alternates.

- 1. Dasarath Chetty
- 2. Fátima Assunção
- 3. Stefan Lücking
- 4. Catherine Casey
- 5. Eleni Nina-Pazarzi
- 6. Volkmar Kreissig
- 7. Pawel Starosta
- 8. Erik Lindhult
- 9. Janaka Hemathilaka
- 10. Cristiano Gianolla
- 11. Maxime Quijoux
- 12. Azril Bacal Roii
- 13. Michela Freddano
- 14. Donatella Poliandro
- 15. Manoj K. Teotia
- 16. Jurate Imbrasaite

8. Future Events

Isabel da Costa reported that the 2020 Porto Allegro meeting is being arranged and that joint sessions with other RCs would be included.

9. General

- 9.1 Vera Vratusa invited RC 10 members to have discussions to learn from each other in a reflective way.
- 9.2 It was reported that the RC 10 Newsletter done electronically contained details of conferences and abstracts of papers.

10. Closure

The meeting closed at 10 pm and the Board meeting was to continue at Stelvio's Restaurant.

Dasarath Chetty

Acting Minutes Secretary

27 July 2018.